Back2Stonewall Disco Flashback – Donna Summer’s “Once Upon A Time” (1977) – Suite Remix

Donna Summer OPAT


Once Upon a Time is the sixth studio album by Donna Summer and was released on October 25, 1977.

OUAT  hit No. 26 on the US Billboard 200, number thirteen on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart[1] and No. 24 on the UK Albums Chart.  The entire album charted as one entry at No. 1 on the Hot Dance/Discochart. Once Upon a Time includes the singles “I Love You”, “Fairy Tale High”, “Once Upon a Time” and “Rumour Has It”. Originally the  album was not as successful as Summer’s previous album I Remember Yesterday’; but now occupies a special place in music history despite the fact that it did not produce a single stand alone hit.

The concept album was Summer’s first double album, telling a modern-day Cinderella-themed story through means of disco music. The album’s story concept was conceived by Joyce Bogart, Susan Munao and Donna Summer based on an idea by Al Bogatz. The songs were written in collaboration between Summer, Giorgio Moroder and Pete Bellotte.

Throughout the album and as described in the liner notes storyline, the songs tell the story of a young woman who lives in a fantasy world of make-believe in which she is seemingly trapped, but thanks to her belief in her dreams she embarks on an adventure that ends with the man she loves entering her life. The “rags to riches” story is brought into the modern day via the use of the electronic disco sound.

Once upon a time, we were all that gitl….

Below is the 35 minute Once Upon A Time Suite” mixed by the very talented  leftatalbuquerque on Youtube



CLICK HERE to buy the Full Album of Once Upon a Time and help support

Act one

1. “Once Upon a Time” 4:02
2. “Faster And Faster To Nowhere” 3:34
3. “Fairy Tale High” 4:25
4. “Say Something Nice” 4:44

Act two

5. “Now I Need You” 6:09
6. “Working the Midnight Shift” 5:07
7. “Queen for a Day” 5:59

Act three

8. “If You Got It Flaunt It” 4:43
9. “A Man Like You” 3:34
10. “Sweet Romance” 4:31
11. “(Theme) Once Upon a Time” 0:48
12. “Dance Into My Life” 4:10

Act four

13. “Rumour Has It” 4:57
14. “I Love You” 4:43
15. “Happily Ever After” 3:51
16. “(Theme) Once Upon a Time”

About Will Kohler

Will Kohler is one of America's best known LGBT historians, He is also a a accredited journalist and the owner of A longtime gay activist Will fought on the front lines of the AIDS epidemic with ACT-UP and continues fighting today for LGBT acceptance and full equality. Will’s work has been referenced on such notable media venues as BBC News, CNN, MSNBC, The Washington Post, The Daily Wall Street Journal, Hollywood Reporter, and Raw Story. Back2Stonewall has been recently added to the Library of Congress' LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive. Mr. Kohler is available for comment, interviews and lectures on LGBT History. Contact:

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.